Deri Fawr Prices Availabilty About Us Things To Do Reviews Contact
Deri Fawr
Self catering holiday accommodation
Deri Fawr
Self catering holiday accommodation

Customer Reviews

2020 2019 2018 2016 2015 2014 2012 2011 2009 

2020

Carol & Wal
25th September 2020

We have just returned from a lovely week at The Granary, on arrival we were met by the owners Helen and Rick, a lovely couple who made us very welcome and were never too busy to have a chat and suggest places of interest to visit.” The first apartment is excellent, very clean and well equipped with everything you need for your stay. There is a lovely garden with two ponds to walk around and the use of a summerhouse with comfy seating and tables. The house is situated in a beautiful rural setting central to the island which makes it an ideal place to stay as there is so much to explore on the island. We enjoyed our stay very much and will be booking again for next year.

Julie & the girls
18th September 2020

Absolutely stunning place to enjoy and relax! The Smithy cottage was very cosy and enough space for the 3 of us who stayed there for 5 nights. Lovely owners Helen and Rick who made us feel very welcome and not to forget their lovely ducks that were a joy to watch waddling around the land! Would highly recommend and we will definitely return very soon.

Heather & family
14th September 2020

We had such a lovely time staying in The Stables, very clean property which had everything you could possibly need inside. Hosts where very friendly and welcoming which made the stay that extra bit special. The grounds are lovely with a little pond and summer house to explore, perfect for our little family. Location is perfect - close to lots of main attractions and beautiful beaches. We will be going again for sure, Thank you.

Alan & Lynne
4th September 2020

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage was cosy and more than met all our needs. Peaceful location lovely grounds and lovely wildlife enjoyed watching ducks, red squirrels and rabbits. Helen and Rick were very helpful and friendly. We would recommend it to anyone.

Rachel, Neil & Tom
24th August 2020

Helen is a brilliant host, and gave us a very warm welcome. The place is very quiet and secluded, ideal for a peaceful stay, but with easy access to the beautiful isle of Anglesey. Not far from Benllech beach and the shops and restaurants around it. I would recommend it to anyone.

John & Lynne
7th August 2020

As we drove down the drive into the courtyard we were met and warmly welcomed by our hosts Helen and Rick.” They are two of the friendliest and obliging people you could wish to meet. Nothing we asked for was too much trouble. We had two fantastic weeks staying in the cottage called The Byre. It is a well-equipped, comfortable, warm, cosy cottage for two people. With its own private patio area to soak up the sun with a morning coffee or an evening glass of wine or two. The wildlife, rabbits, birds etc and not forgetting the four ducks waddling past the door is a delight to watch. The surrounding grounds, summer house, ponds etc are all there for visitors to savour. We really enjoyed our two weeks there feeling very much at home and didn’t hesitate to book the same two weeks for 2021. A very big thanks to Helen and a Rick for making the two weeks so unforgettable.

Alex & family
24th July 2020

“Deri Fawr is a gorgeous, tranquil little haven that we wholeheartedly recommend.” Helen and Rick were exceptional hosts and they made sure our short break was one to remember. It's fair to say that the photos don't currently do this justice. It's a gorgeous spot. The grounds are meticulously kept. It's a tranquil and serene place, with a beautiful summer house and lovely grounds which are perfect for a wander after a day at the beach. It's easy to drive to any of Anglesey’s beautiful beaches, yet secluded enough for any family (with or without kids) to get away from the busyness of day to day life. The real stars of Deri Fawr - in addition to the hosts - are the 4 ducks that wander the gardens and have their own little duck house. Chasing them back to bed was our son's personal highlight! We're hoping to return soon.

Steven
24th July 2020

We are currently staying in "Deri Fawr". There are 4 cottages and 2 caravans in extensive and beautiful grounds. Our cottage, the Stables is delightful, fully equipped and warm and comfortable and newly refurbished by the new owners. Helen and Rick are welcoming, cheerful and always prepared to supply/help in any way. I fell in love with the place on sight, the wildlife is amazing and the gardens exquisite. We will most certainly be back. It is so peaceful here and close to many beautiful places to visit.

Pam & John
17th July 2020

“We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Byre.” It was the perfect place to stay for a very relaxing holiday in a beautiful location. Rick and Helen made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived and nothing was too much trouble for them. The attention to detail is obvious in this warm, cosy, comfortable cottage and the super-king size bed is an absolute luxury. The kitchen is well stocked with everything needed for self- catering and everything was spotlessly clean. There’s even a private patio area where we were able to sit out in the evening having a quiet drink. We would definitely return and highly recommend it.

Wendy & Family
19th February 2020

“A lovely cottage in a lovely setting with very friendly” Welcoming owners who went out of their way to ensure that we had a lovely break, even providing buckets and spades for our grandchildren to use on the beach on a cold, sunny day in February.

2019

28th August 2019

“Lovely accomodation spotlessly clean” Lovely little cottage in a farm setting without the smells:) The gardens are very well maintained and everything was exceptionally clean and tidy. The Byre is a self-continued ground floor unit with everything you could ask for. Everything was impeccable - the Kitchen and bathroom were spotlessly clean and the kitchen had everything you could want to cook or bake. Location is excellent very quiet and rural just as described including the Hedgehogs, Rabbits and Red Squirrels. Deri Fawr It is within striking distance of all the beaches and places worth seeing, it’s close to shopping on the way or return journey home. The owners; Tom and Mavis are perfect hosts and very helpful. the Price for the week (7 nights) was excellent value for money and I have already recommended Deri Fawr to my friends. If you are a couple or a single parent with a small child the Byre is a fantastic place to stay but book early as I tried to stay for few more days and they were fully booked.

15th June 2019

What a lovely cosy cottage in such a beautiful place...ducks, rabbits, birdsong. A real back to nature week. The weather was mixed but didn`t stop us enjoying our visit. Many thanks to Mavis and Paul who thought of everything we might need - and then some more e.g. oil, salt, Fairy liquid. Such a treat to have fluffy, huge bath sheets. So often there is only a towel which hardly goes round me. Love the flower tubs too.

5th May 2019

Lovely to return to the Byre once again. A wonderful week of relaxation on Anglesey. Thanks to Paul and Mavis for being such lovely hosts. Visited the Dingle ( red squirrels), Rhosneigr, Beaumaris, Newborough, Model Village and Moelfre and Bull Bay ( porpoises).

27th April 2019

Another wonderful relaxing week in the Byre. First class facility in every way.

9th January 2019

“Totally enjoyable stay over the Christmas period.” Mavis and Paul made sure we had everything we could possibly need. The cottage is delightful, beautifully located and has every amenity. I can thoroughly recommend Deri Fawr. Cleanliness 5* Staff Service 5* Value for Money 5* Location 5* Services and Facilities 5*

6th January 2019

Another peaceful and relaxing week in paradise. Credit to Mavis and Paul for what you have created here. Thank you.

2nd January 2019

“Lovely!” We stayed in The Byre. It was lovely! When we arrived everything we could want was there. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The gardens are beautiful and obviously designed to encourage wildlife. The accommodation in the Byre is small but perfectly adequate for 2 people. There’s a lovely sitting/dining room with satellite TV, a large double bedroom, bathroom with shower and an extremely well kitted out kitchen. It was nice that the basics were already supplied on our arrival as well. The whole place was absolutely spotless and really like being at home! There is plenty of parking. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family. The regular ‘duck patrol’ was added entertainment! Thank you for a lovely stay. Cleanliness Staff Service Value for Money Location Services and Facilities

2018

9th October 2018

Great accommodation and a fabulous location. We stayed in Caravan 1 which had everything you could want. Spotlessly clean and a warm, friendly reception. The location is idyllic - the children loved seeing the ducks waddling round the caravan and cottages and the wild rabbits on the lane. Great facilities - the laundrette in particular was a life-saver with three kids in tow. Just a couple of miles from Benllech which has a Tesco Express, chip shops and a fantasic beach, but far enough away to be lovely and quiet, you get the best of both worlds. We'll definitely be visiting again!

3rd July 2018

Just home from an amazing 17 days stay in Stables. Loved every single minute! The setting is truly beautiful and so peaceful and relaxing, we spent a lot of time in the gardens which have been planned to totally support wildlife. The cottage itself is extremely well equipped, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Mavis and Paul can't do enough for you and are wonderful hosts. We're already booked for September!

27th June 2018

Lovely place! We stayed in The Byre. It was lovely! When we arrived everything we could want was there. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The gardens are beautiful and obviously designed to encourage wildlife. The accommodation in the Byre is small but perfectly adequate for 2 people. There’s a lovely sitting/dining room with satellite TV, a large double bedroom, bathroom with shower and an extremely well kitted out kitchen. It was nice that the basics were already supplied on our arrival as well. The whole place was absolutely spotless and really like being at home! There is plenty of parking. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family. The regular ‘duck patrol’ was added entertainment! Thank you for a lovely stay.

2016

19th November 2016

A home from home. As part of a work relocation I needed somewhere to stay for an extended period. This was initially for 3 months but soon stretched to a year... which went to 2! From my first viewing I knew it was the right place for me. So quiet and relaxed. I stayed in the 'The Granary' the whole time, it was perfect and allowed me so much freedom to come and go as I pleased. Mavis and Paul are fantastic and so accommodating, they couldn't do more for me. I can fully recommend Deri Fawr for short or long term stays and am happy to now call them my friends.

17th November 2016

Had a lovely stay in the caravan. Paul and Mavis were excellent hosts. Beautiful landscape and high cleaning standards in the caravan. Really liked the ducks coming to greet us every morning! Will definately look to stay again.

20th August 2016

Fast schon ein wenig mystisch. Wir waren das erste Mal und sind bei diesem ferienhaus auf ein Goldstück gestossen. Die Vermieter sind super nett und extrem hilfsbereit. Die Lage ist sehr gut, denn man kann von dort aus die ganze Insel in max. 45 Minuten erreichen. Perhaps even somewhat spiritual. We were here in this holiday house for the first time and discovered a piece of gold. The owners are very nice and extremely helpful. The location is very good because you can reach anywhere on the Island from here in a maximum of 45 minutes.

14th August 2016

Absolute paradise. Stunning location. You are surrounded by beautiful gardens and flower baskets, with so many private peaceful places to 'chill out', including a warm summer house. Accommodation was perfect, every home comfort available. Amazing quantity and variety of wildlife and plants, and not forgetting the resident ducks. Caring and friendly hosts, Paul and Mavis, make you feel very welcome and relaxed. No light pollution, perfect for star gazers. I have found my paradise!

5th August 2016

Fantastic family break. We had an amazing stay, our first ever trip to Anglesey. The caravan was clean and had every home comfort we could think of. The owners are so welcoming and friendly, even sorting out bikes when my daughter wanted to ride around the area. My toddler was entranced by the ducks and enjoyed walking with them to the duck ponds. We have fallen in love with this place and the island. We intend to return soon. Thanks again.

22nd June 2016

Wonderful! I'm writing this whilst still on holiday as we're having such a wonderful, relaxing time that I could not wait to post a review! Mavis and Paul, our excellent hosts, are very friendly and attentive. Our cottage (Stables) is spotlessly clean, cosy and homely and everything you can possibly think of is provided. The setting is beautiful, lovely gardens and countryside, very quiet and peaceful. On our first day we saw 2 hares and a partridge on the lane nearby. We can't wait for our next visit!!

15th June 2016

What a lovely cosy Cottage (The Smithy) in such a beautiful, quiet location. Ducks, rabbits and bird song... a real back to nature week. The weather was mixed but it didn`t stop us enjoying our visit. Many thanks to Mavis and paul who thought of everything we might need -and then some more.g. cooking oil, salt, Fairy liquid and so on.. Such a treat to have fluffy , huge, bath sheets- so often there is only a towel which hardly goes round me. Love the flower tubs too. Thank you for everything.

11th June 2016

Just been back to Deri Fawr for our third visit. In the past we have stayed in one of the cottages which we have found very comfortable, with first class facilities. Because on this visit we were only staying for two nights we thought that we would experience one of Deri Fawr's two caravans. We were not disappointed. Even though the caravan was a few years old, you would have thought that it was brand new. It had everything that you needed and more, even an on suite-toilet. Would highly recommend. The ducks kept us entertained and as usual, the owner Mavis and Paul offered a warm, friendly and helpful welcome. Definitely the place to stay on Anglesey.

28th May 2016

Wonderful! Our caravan was very well equipped, clean and comfortable. Paul and Mavis, who run the place, were both a pleasure to meet - thoughtful, quietly friendly and generous - and willing to help us in any way they could to maximise the pleasure of our stay in their wonderful little corner of what felt not for away from a kind of paradise. It would be a struggle for words to live up to the experience of spending time amongst their birdsong-rich garden of orchard-like trees, around which their families of charming ducks meander delightfully.

2015

5th September 2015

Very high standard of decorations & facilities. Best self-catering we have stayed in.

15th June 2015

Beautiful surroundings, lots of wildlife and a very friendly welcome! It was our first visit to Deri Fawr and immediately upon our arrival, we were welcomed by Paul, Mavis and their nine lovely ducks! We stayed in one of two static caravans which were beautifully furnished, well equipped and extremely comfortable and cozy inside. In the main bedroom, should you have a cold night, there are delightful heated blankets on the bed! We had a daily welcome visit from the ducks and in addition to that there were lots of birds singing around us in the trees and even rabbits in the garden. We noted in particular the caring nature of Paul and Mavis when it comes to their animals and wildlife in general (Mavis nursed a sick baby rabbit that we found in the garden) and this was lovely to see. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were very accommodating to us. There is also a welcoming pack of biscuits, teabags and milk for your refreshment upon arrival. All in all, a lovely holiday in a beautiful countryside location off the beaten track, hosted by a lovely couple. HIGHLY recommended for anyone visiting the isle of Anglesey!

2014

11th February 2014

Deri Fawr is a fabulous place to stay. We have been countless times now and each time is just as exciting as the first. The accommodation is first class and the location is beautiful. Paul and Mavis will do anything they can to ensure you have the most wonderful stay. I can't recommend Deri Fawr enough.

2012

17th June 2012

A hidden gem... but not hidden too far away from the excellent Anglesey east coast. The owners were very helpful with the offer of some OS maps during our stay and a nice little list of good places to go and visit during our first stay on Anglesey. Excellent accommodation with a cot on hand for our 2yo. The onsite ducks were well fed during the few days we spent here! Nice and quiet place tucked away from any main roads, very safe for kids to run around. Use of a washer and dryer may be useful for any walkers or bikers too.

2011

6th August 2011

Lovely place, helpful owners. We stayed at the Byre, a lovely little cottage suitable for a couple, possibly with a baby (though there is not bath, just a small bathroom with a shower). We had such a lovely stay here, the location is superb to explore the coast. Mavis and Paul Brown are so helpful, but yet they respect your privacy. The cottage was really clean and it had all that we needed and an amazing kind size bed, it was so comfy that we slept in most days! The place is also blooming, lots of beautiful flowers everywhere, cared for by Mavis. We really enjoyed staying here and we will go again!

2009

14th June 2009

Beautiful place, great owners. There was a welcome food pack in the kitchen which was very helpful. Owners Mavis and Paul welcomed us upon arrival and they were also extremely helpful throughout our stay. The accomodation is excellent. We had a tour around all the other accomodation (cottages and caravans) and they were superb. This is a good base for a stay in Anglesey and we will not hesitate to go back there. We stayed here because we were attending a wedding nearby and having forgotten a number of things i.e cufflinks (which were lent to us by Paul, thanks Paul) amongst other things, we managed to get to the church on time (thanks to directions from Paul). Overall, we found this accomodation clean, comfortable and very good value for money. I priced other cottages in the same area and they were trice the price than what we paid to stay at Deri Fawr. Highly recommended accomodation and very helpful host. Thanks once again. Hope to see you soon.

Contact Us

Contact details:

  +44 (0)1248 470692

  +44 (0)7890 443262 (Call or Text)

  Request a call back

  info@derifawr.co.uk

  Deri Fawr, Llandyfrydog, Anglesey, LL71 8AS, Wales, United Kingdom.

Follow Us